Regular Meeting SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT December 4, 2017

The regular meeting of the South Williamsport Area School Board was called to order this evening in the library of the High School by the acting solicitor Jeff Rowe.

The meeting opened with a moment of silence and Pledge to the Flag.

Board Members Present: Anthony, Bachman, Branton, Fiorini, Miller, Molino, Page and Persun.

Board Members Absent: Davenport

Others Present: Dr. Mark Stamm-Superintendent, Kathy Furman-Central Principal, Jesse Smith-High School Principal, Michele Loomis-Assistant High School Principal, Kristin Bastian- Special Education Director/School Psychologist, Bill Reifsnyder-Maintenance Director, Dennis Artley-Business Manager, Jamie Mowery-Assistant Business Manager and Jeff Rowe-Acting Solicitor.

Visitors: Pam Reifsnyder, Brenda Trimble, Pat Crossley, Melissa Bradley, Chris Molino, Tara Stryker, LouAnn Zeigler, Raeann Pardoe, Lisa Laidacker, Lauren Reynolds and Jesse Ross

REORGANIZATION

Mr. Anthony nominated Mr. Branton to be the President Pro Tempore for the purpose of reorganization seconded by Fiorini. Being no further nomination, Mr. Branton took over as President Pro Tempore.

Mr. Artley gave the results of the recent election held in November. Nathan Miller and Airneezer Page were elected to four-year terms in Region One. Erica Molino was elected to a four-year term in Region Two. Steven Persun was elected to a two-year term in Region Two. Cathy Bachman was elected to a four-year term in Region 3. Mr. Branton administered the oath of office to the elected members.

Mr. Branton requested nominations for the office of President. Mr. Anthony nominated Chris Branton. There was no further nominations so Mr. Branton closed the nominations. All members present voting yes, that Mr. Branton become President for the ensuing year.

Mr. Branton requested nominations for the office of Vice President. Mr. Persun nominated Greg Anthony. There was no further nomination so Mr. Branton closed the nominations. All members present voted yes, that Mr. Anthony becomes Vice President for the ensuing year.

Mr. Branton requested nominations for the office of Treasurer. Mr. Miller nominated Cathy Bachman. There was no further nomination so Mr. Branton closed the nominations. All members present voted yes, that Mrs. Bachman becomes Treasurer for the ensuing year.

ADOPTION OF MEETING DATES

A motion to adopt the attached School Board Meeting Calendar for 2018 was moved by Mrs. Bachman, seconded by Mr. Persun. Roll call: Anthony-yes, Bachman-yes, Fiorini-yes, Miller-yes, Molino-yes, Page-yes, Persun-yes, and Branton-yes, motion carried.

APPROVE TREASURER'S REPORT

A motion to approve the Treasurer's Report for the month of October 2017 was moved by Persun, seconded by Bachman. Roll call: Anthony-yes, Bachman-yes, Fiorini-yes, Miller-yes, Molino-yes, Page-yes, Persun-yes, and Branton-yes, motion carried.

APPROVE GENERAL FUND BILLS

A motion to approve the payment of bills from the General Fund in the amount of \$1,226,070.19 as funds become available was moved by Anthony, seconded by Miller. Roll call: Anthony-yes, Bachman-yes, Fiorini-yes, Miller-yes, Molino-yes, Page-yes, Persun-yes, and Branton-yes, motion carried.

APPROVE CAFETERIA FUND BILLS

A motion to approve the payment of bills from the Cafeteria Fund in the amount of \$46,018.68 as funds become available was moved by Bachman, seconded by Persun. Roll call: Anthony-yes, Bachman-yes, Fiorini-yes, Miller-yes, Molino-yes, Page-yes, Persun-yes, and Branton-yes, motion carried.

APPROVE MINUTES

A motion to approve the minutes of November 6, 2017, as written, was moved by Bachman seconded by Miller. All members present voting yes, motion carried.

SUPERINTENDENT RECOMMENDATIONS

CONFERENCE REQUESTS

Moved by Fiorini seconded by Bachman to approve the following conference requests:

- Lisa Laidacker, to attend <u>Innovative & Technology Collaborative</u>, sponsored by Blast IU 17 on December 12, 2017, February 21, 2018, and May 8, 2018, at various locations
- Matthew Eisley, to attend The Current State of K-12 Education sponsored by Penn College of Technology on December 13, 2017, at PCT Earth Science Center.

Roll call: Anthony-yes, Bachman-yes, Fiorini-yes, Miller-yes, Molino-yes, Page-yes Persun-yes, and Branton-yes, motion carried.

RESIGNATION

A motion to accept the resignation of Michelle Heim, cafeteria worker effective December 15, 2017, was moved by Bachman, seconded by Persun. Roll call: Anthony-yes, Bachman-yes, Fiorini-yes, Miller-yes, Molino-yes, Page-yes Persun-yes, and Branton-yes, motion carried.

MILITARY LEAVE

A motion to approve Stephen Radulski's Active Duty status with the United States Army beginning January 2, 2018, through approximately December 2018, was moved by Fiorini, seconded by Miller.

Mr. Rudulski will continue with full benefits from the district but will be salaried through the United State Army during his military leave. Roll call: Anthony-yes, Bachman-yes, Fiorini-yes, Miller-yes, Molino-yes, Page-yes Persun-yes, and Branton-yes, motion carried.

AFSCME TRANSFERS AND JOB BIDS

A motion to approve the following transfer and appointments within the custodial staff was moved by Fiorini, seconded by Persun. Sherry McNamee will be 2nd shift lead. John Stiner will move to 2nd shift. Ed Springman will be a full-time custodian effective December 4, 2017, at a rate of \$9.00 per hour in accordance with the A.F.S.C.M.E. Collective Bargaining Agreement. Sara Bauer will be a part-time custodian for five hours per day effective December 4, 2017, at a rate of \$9.00 per hour in accordance with the A.F.S.C.M.E. Collective Bargaining Agreement. Sara Bauer will be a part-time the A.F.S.C.M.E. Collective Bargaining Agreement. Roll call: Anthony-yes, Bachman-yes, Fiorini-yes, Miller-yes, Molino-yes, Page-yes Persun-yes, and Branton-yes, motion carried

EMPLOYMENT WINTER ATHLETIC COACHES

A motion to approve the employment of all the following volunteer winter coaches was moved by Persun, seconded by Bachman.

Boys Elementary Basketball

Nathan Miller, Barth Carson, Cindy Confer, Chad Quimbey, and Chad Krape Roll call: Anthony-yes, Bachman-yes, Fiorini-yes, Miller-abstain, Molino-yes, Page-yes Persun-yes, and Branton-yes, motion carried

SUBSTITUTES

A motion to approve the following additions to the substitute list was moved by Miller, seconded by Anthony. Sarah Bamford/Elementary & Secondary. Roll call: Anthony-yes, Bachman-yes, Fiorini-yes, Miller-yes, Molino-yes, Page-yes Persun-yes, and Branton-yes, motion carried

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING – PENN COLLEGE

A motion to approve a Memorandum of Understanding Agreement for Penn College NOW Concurrent Enrollment Partnership between Pennsylvania College of Technology and South Williamsport Area School District for secondary students to have the opportunity to earn tuition-free college credits as detailed in the agreement was moved by Miller, seconded by Fiorini. Roll call: Anthony-yes, Bachman-yes, Fiorini-yes, Miller-abstain, Molino-yes, Page-yes Persun-yes, and Branton-yes, motion carried

EDUCATION UPDATE

Dr. Stamm and Kathy Furman spent a few minutes discussing the Elementary strategic plan and some of the programs they have started this year including a new behavior program to be started in January 2018. Many of the teachers that have been very involved in bringing this program to South Williamsport were at the meeting.

Mr. Fiorini informed the Board that he is moving from Region 1 to Region 3 so he needs to resign from the Board.

Moved by Bachman, seconded by Fiorini that the meeting be adjourned. All members present voting yes, the meeting was adjourned at 7:40 p.m.

Attest

Dennis A. Artley Secretary